Security of Supply 2.0: How Europe can prevent the recurrence of the gas crisis in the future

By relying solely on russian gas, European countries have largely ignored the obvious risks and implications for the security of supply. To prevent the recurrence of the current crisis in the future, Europe could have a consolidated discussion on the introduction of several “Security of Supply 2.0” Regulations.

This opinion was expressed by Olga Bielkova, Director of Government and International Affairs, during her speech at the 17th International Energy Forum.

As an example, among the possible measures, the Director of Gas TSO of Ukraine indicated the requirements for minimum gas stocks, limits on the gas purchased from one supplier, at the level of a particular country and the European level, etc. (more details in the presentation).

According to Ms. Bielkova, the diversification of supply sources and delivery routes plays a key role in the security of supply. While Europe’s main consumers remain unchanged, LNG terminals become the main sources of gas with potential for expansion. However, currently, there are several bottlenecks for delivering LNG to EU countries, among them the lack of onshore gas transportation infrastructure.

“Repurposing of existing infrastructure, where possible, is the key to solving onshore infrastructure bottlenecks at a minimal cost. In this context, there is great potential in the reverse mode of the Trans -Balkan pipeline, which could supply gas from the Turkish and Greek LNG terminals and TANAP to Romania, Moldova, Ukraine, Hungary and via Slovakia potentially to the Baumgarten area,” said Olga Bielkova.

To maximize the use of the Trans -Balkan corridor, it is necessary to:

  • sign interconnection agreements between all participants of the route by the European energy legislation, first of all between the operators of the Bulgarian and Turkish GTS;
  • increase firm capacity on a long-term basis;
  • enable the possibility of transporting natural gas in the virtual reverse mode from Moldova.